Quick Links: Download Gideros Studio | Gideros Documentation | Gideros Development Center | Gideros community chat | DONATE
Gideros for a total beginner? — Gideros Forum

Gideros for a total beginner?

Hello people. I really need your opinion. Im new to game development. I have some experience in programming. I'm decent with Python. Played a little with C#, JS, Java.
I always wanted to try game development. Not planning this as a career, just first i want to build something for myself and have fun doing it. I want to go with 2D because I have this fun idea for a simple game. So I did some research and engines like Unity or Unreal looks like a total overkill for my project.
So first I tried to build something with Python... built some prototypes with Pygame, with Kivy. It was fun, but I really want to finish my project and then export it for example to Windows. And to make an *.exe file from your Python game... its not fun. Actually Kivy helps with that, but Im not a big fan of the framework itself. So I started to look for alternatives. Like Libgdx, Godot, Cocos2D-x.

And then I discovered Lua. I heard about it couple times before, but never tried it. But now it looks for me like I would feel most comfortable switching from Python to Lua. So I searched for Lua game engines, frameworks. Found Corona, Love2D and Gideros. And I want to ask you people, why you stick with Gideros? Why not Godot or other Lua based engines like Corona, Love2d? Also is Gideros really beginners friendly? I know you guys like Gideros, but maybe for a total beginner like me it would be better to go with some other tool? Oh and I also tried Construct. But I also want to become better at programming, so no visual scripting for me.

Comments

• try all the engines, and choose the one that suits you

my games:
    https://play.google.com/store/apps/developer?id=razorback456
    мій блог по гідерос https://simartinfo.blogspot.com
    Слава Україні!