Quick Links: Download Gideros Studio | Gideros Documentation | Gideros Development Center | Gideros community chat | DONATE
Gideros for a total beginner? - Page 2 — Gideros Forum

Gideros for a total beginner?

2»

Comments

• antixantix Member
    Personally I think unity is very bloated (unreal engine is that way now also) and as @oleg says... your exports suffer because it has to mash way too much into your APK files.

Currently in Gideros we can use Tiled to create our levels and real code to make them come alive. The tool in the video makes that a lot easier but you aren't really programming anymore, you're just drang'n'dropping stuff, having no idea what's happening behind the scenes that makes it actually work.

That's not necessarily an evil thing though because it removes a barrier that a creative person with little or no coding skill may have when it comes to creating games. I think that people should also know a bit how things work behind the curtain however :)

My book (should I ever complete it) will have source code for an entire platformer game included. Readers won't need to fully understand how the code works, they will just need to learn (in code of course) how to feed it data that it then displays as an actual game.
    +1 -1 (+2 / -0 )Share on Facebook
  • @antix please write a book on how to make RTS or RPG games :D Actually I just need to understand how to make a map for my simple strategy game and then implement pathfinding. Want to do something similar to civilization, but much much more primitive :)
  • antixantix Member
    @simonl ahh the only RTS I ever really played was Red Alert2 and Yuri's Revenge, by far the best ever made ;)

I think Gideros needs some pathfinding code built in like the jumper.lua library maybe.

RPG games I have a keen interest in and I'll make one one day, it's kind of a large subject to be able to be mashed into my book :D
  • antix said:

Red Alert2 and Yuri's Revenge, by far the best ever made ;)