Quick Links: Download Gideros Studio | Gideros Documentation | Gideros Development Center | Gideros community chat | DONATE
Performance comparison to c++ engines — Gideros Forum

Performance comparison to c++ engines

dominum018dominum018 Member
edited November 2015 in General questions
Hi,

I am totally new to Gideros ( and I really, really love it ) , I switched from Cocos2d-x ( c++ ) and I am trying to make a game with couple soldiers, couple bot soldiers with AI and A* on map with size (100 x 100 artificial cell, not connected to resolution ) and around 150 sprites on scene. I found on youtube couple links with Gideros performance with more sprites but I would be grateful to hear from people which are using what are performance of Gideros and did you maybe make comparison with Cocos2d-x or Marmalade or any c++ engine ?

Comments

• @dominum018 - hi!
    I personally have only experience with Corona, Marmalade Quick, and Gideros.
    - Corona is pretty good but having to compile over the internet is a pain.
    - Marmalade Quick is anything but. It's very easy to use but it is tragically slow.
    - Gideros is very fast. You can have a ton of sprites onscreen at 60FPS. I haven't tested much on my devices yet but its my favourite engine by far.

I have no experience with any c++ engines.

There are a bunch of useful libraries from other frameworks (corona, love2d) that handle collision and pathfinding so make use of those :)
  • amin13aamin13a Member
    edited November 2015
    I have experience with Marmalade C++ and I made 3 games with Gideros.
    Marmalade is faster in calculation but Gideros is productive one. I made a complex game with only 15000 lines of code in Gideros. In Marmalade it will be 50000 lines or more.for simple tasks and calculation Gideros is better.

+1 -1 (+1 / -0 )Share on Facebook