Quick Links: Download Gideros Studio | Gideros Documentation | Gideros Development Center | Gideros community chat | DONATE
Just joined...Can I help? — Gideros Forum

Just joined...Can I help?

Evening folks,

My name is Bryan and I am a systems engineer by day, software developer and aspiring game/app developer by night in the US. No, I'm not a C++ guru lol, but I like C#, Java, and Python and I'm beginning to accept LUA :-)

I came to Gideros after searching the web to find a Corona replacement for some apps I had written back in 2013. I wasn't particularly liking the pricing model in regard to ad plugins of Corona nor the fact they fail to produce an IDE worth using - at least that I could find.

When I found Gideros and seen it was an open source project, I was immediately attracted to it, as I had been wanting to become part of a project in some way or at least to help. So I downloaded it and give it a whirl last night along with a few videos and I have to say, for open source I was impressed. The only thing it seemed lacking was a GUI suite which is one of the reasons I wanted to check it out. I was looking for something to replace Unity when it comes to Apps, Unity as great as it is, is heavy in this realm, so I needed an alternative. However, it doesn't seem that Gideros has any GUI system (I could be wrong..?).

My main development tools are Unity3D, Visual Studio, IntelliJ, and PyCharm. I have used Corona for some apps as well as mentioned. I want to extend my passion for apps, games, and education into an opensource project that is helpful to people and it also bodes well with my portfolio of things of course. Finally, as I said, I'm a systems engineer, so I have access to a lot of options when it comes to infrastructure (servers, virtualization, databases...ect.)