Quick Links: Download Gideros Studio | Gideros Documentation | Gideros Development Center | Gideros community chat | DONATE
My game is slow in phone — Gideros Forum

My game is slow in phone

neverjoyneverjoy Member
edited November 2015 in General questions
hi sirs,

With the help of sirs here, i was able to complete my second game. now the thing is in my phone and other phone tested, it shows drop in fps and i noticed somewhat the phone heats, but my game is just a simple jumper, obstacles come, you just dodge by jumping over it, that's all. It's very simple in mechanics and i really suspect that my programming to blame -causing memory leaks etc.

As a newbie, I need to know sirs what is your golden-rule-to-effecient-coding or at least what you keep in mind when making your games.

I noticed myself: (i need to know sirs if these causes it)
-i usually use a lot of enter frame events..
-i like to put mathematical operations as arguments to functions like..
-i use just change the texture when using animations.. and using enter frame to control it..
that is one enter frame event per animation in one object.

thanks.

Comments

• Tom2012Tom2012 Guru
    edited November 2015 Accepted Answer
    Hi NeverJoy!

Here's what I find... When I'm working on a game, I forget to test memory leaks and FPS - the main things that need to work for my game to run smoothly. So, every now and then during development, it's a good idea to run the FPS and memory leak checks.

It's highly likely that you will have memory leaks and FPS problems and there's always something causing them.

Incidentally here's the code for memory leak checks

-- Memory leak checker

memNum = 0
    floor = math.floor
    monitorMem = function()

memNum = memNum + 1
    	if(memNum==20) then
    		collectgarbage()
    		collectgarbage()
    		collectgarbage()
    		memNum = 0
    		print("MemUsage: ", floor(collectgarbage("count")))
    	end
    end

stage:addEventListener(Event.ENTER_FRAME, monitorMem)