Quick Links: Download Gideros Studio | Gideros Documentation | Gideros Development Center | Gideros community chat | DONATE
Can Gideros Run lua file not present in the project folder — Gideros Forum

Can Gideros Run lua file not present in the project folder

bysregbysreg Member
edited September 2012 in General questions
Just like the title says,

for example, im trying to create a platformer game with many levels. After that, i want to add more levels to the game, without having the user to download all over again the game. So, i was thinking, when the game starts, the game checks to server for any new released levels, and when there's one, download it and miraculously, the game has new level. in short, can gideros run .lua file from external file(something that's exist only after development)?

i'm new to lua and sorry if its a noob question

thank you

Comments

• MikeHartMikeHart Guru
    Accepted Answer
    yes should be able too. Gideros has not restricted it's Lua implementation and you should be able to download a lua file, store it and then run it.
  • thank you

more question,

do you mean loadfile? functions thats defined with loadfile, will it pollute the global namespace?
  • Unless you ever want to submit to Apple, downloading "level data" is one thing, however downloading and excuting code is a fast route to "rejectsville" :)
    WhiteTree Games - Home, home on the web, where the bits and bytes they do play!
    #MakeABetterGame! "Never give up, Never NEVER give up!" - Winston Churchill
  • atilimatilim Maintainer
    @bysreg loadfile load the file as a separate chunk and returns the compiled chunk as a function. If you don't call the returned function, loadfile doesn't change/execute/pollute anything. If you call the function, any global variables inside the chunk are put into the global namespace.