Quick Links: Download Gideros Studio | Gideros Documentation | Gideros Development Center | Gideros community chat | DONATE
Client-side key-derivation — Gideros Forum

Client-side key-derivation

memememe Member
edited May 2015 in Suggestions & requests
I'm not very good at crypto, I know just the basic stuff. The more power the password derivation needs, the better. So, what's the usual reason to do it server-side anyway? Browsers not supporting it? Could gideros support it? Am I making a error in reasoning?

I've built a communication model over with UrlLoader (https) into my current little game. Well, passwords are stored plain text in the database. Don't want to waste server resources if I *could do it client-side.

Hm, what should I do?

Comments

• SinisterSoftSinisterSoft Maintainer
    The client side could be hacked more easily than the server side.
    Coder, video game industry veteran (since the '80s, ❤'s assembler), arrested - never convicted hacker (in the '90s), dad of five, he/him (if that even matters!).
    https://deluxepixel.com
  • This make me remember about some site that store the password of username in their database as plain text, it ended in a horrible way.
  • memememe Member
    This make me remember about some site that store the password of username in their database as plain text, it ended in a horrible way.
    Yes, this is want I don't want to be accountable for. But the good crypto would disturb the server performance for let's say a millisecond. And the real good would do so for a second instead, then a hacker could brute force only 1/1000 as much. But I don't want to create server hickups performance-wise. Even If Lua in the client would take 2 times as long, the micro-lag would be just for one user instead of all.
  • ar2rsawseenar2rsawseen Maintainer
    edited May 2015
    @meme it makes a lot of sense to store authentication data in the app, even when you want to do autologin, etc.