Quick Links: Download Gideros Studio | Gideros Documentation | Gideros Development Center | Gideros community chat | DONATE
Objective C in Gideros Studio — Gideros Forum

Objective C in Gideros Studio

edited July 2012 in General questions
Hi All,
I am an iOS Developer and totally new to Gideros Studio. I just went through its documentation and got to know that we use Lua programming (scripting) language to create games. Once the game is developed we can export the project in XCode.
I just want to know that can we use Objective C language and its frameworks in Gideros Studio so that i utilise my Objective C experience without using Lua Language.
All answers will be appreciated.
Thanks.
Tagged:

Comments

• Without being harsh - if your comfortable using Obj-C then there's little if any point in using Gideros.

Gideros is aimed at people who can (or are willing to learn to) program in Lua and use that to write apps - the Gideros dev team recognise that they can't provide all the functionality that everyone requires so they allow people to write native extensions (or plugin's) to the engine.

These plugin's can be written in the language of your choice but allow you to access native device features (or just the raw power of the device if required for "heavy lifting") - currently it's not possible to integrate any graphics directly within the Gideros display hierarchy (although it is possible to render extra items on top of the Gideros display).

Hope this answers your question.
    WhiteTree Games - Home, home on the web, where the bits and bytes they do play!
    #MakeABetterGame! "Never give up, Never NEVER give up!" - Winston Churchill
  • @techdojo -- So what you are saying is i have to learn Lua programming first to create games in Gideros and Gideros doesn't support Objective C. Am i correct ?
  • techdojotechdojo Guru
    edited July 2012
    Pretty much yes.