Quick Links: Download Gideros Studio | Gideros Documentation | Gideros Development Center | Gideros community chat | DONATE
what is the difference between a sprite class object and a bitmap class object — Gideros Forum

what is the difference between a sprite class object and a bitmap class object

fozbstudiosfozbstudios Member
edited May 2012 in General questions
just as the title says, I'm a total newb!
Tagged:

Comments

• atilimatilim Maintainer
    edited May 2012
    Hi and welcome :)

Mainly, Sprite class is used to contain and group other sprites and Bitmap class is used to display Textures or TextureRegions on the stage.

You can create a Sprite class object by:
    local sprite = Sprite.new()
    and a Bitmap class object by:
    local texture = Texture.new("image.png")
    local bitmap = Bitmap.new(texture)
    Because Bitmap class inherits from Sprite class, you can use all of the Sprite functions with a Bitmap object.

+1 -1 (+1 / -0 )Share on Facebook
  • so for displaying a control use bitmap
    edited May 2012
    If your control consists of a single image, yes. Otherwise you need to create multiple bitmaps and add them to a parent sprite.
  • ok thanks for the help!!!!
  • any performance gains to be had from adding all of my controls in the right places then putting them in a single sprite object?
    I recommend to put them in a single sprite object for ease of use. I think the performance difference between two is negligible.
  • How is it easier? Sorry for all the noob questions!
  • last question can sprites be multi-nested? ex: floor sprite inside building sprite inside city sprite.
  • bowerandybowerandy Guru
    edited May 2012
    @fozbstudios, yes Sprites can be multiply nested.

I think the name, Sprite, is perhaps a bit misleading since I've previously thought of sprites as moveable/animatable graphic images inside games. This is not exactly what they are in Gideros.