Quick Links: Download Gideros Studio | Gideros Documentation | Gideros Development Center | Gideros community chat | DONATE
OpenAL — Gideros Forum

OpenAL

jarosmartinjarosmartin Member
edited April 2012 in General questions
Hi there ! I'm new to Gideros. I've been searching the forums and reading the API and only found few options for working with sound: playback, volume and position (playback) . I would like to know how much of OpenAL's API is exposed. It seems to me that using a 3D audio engine it would only make sense if more features, such as emitters and listeners, are accessible.

Tagged:
+1 -1 (+3 / -0 )Share on Facebook

Comments

• Hi and welcome, jarosmartin :).

I don't know OpenAL, but with Gideros Studio, using the Lua C API, you have access to all of iOS functionality.

71squared did a Sound Manager class for iOS (disclaimer - I've only looked at this for a few minutes, but 71squared are great people):
    http://www.71squared.com/2010/01/latest-sound-manager-class/

Theoretically (I haven't tried this), you could create a plugin that instantiates that sound manager class, and from Lua call C/C++ functions in the plugin that call methods in that class.

How much iOS experience do you have?

If you have a look at the forum plugins category here:
    http://www.giderosmobile.com/forum/categories/plugins
    and also the plugins section in the Ultimate Guide (link at the top of this page) it might help.
  • Thank you ! 71squared's Sound Manager looks great. I looked into soundmanager.h and their class features what I was looking for: positioning a sound source in a 3d space. I guess I will have to write a plugin.