Quick Links: Download Gideros Studio | Gideros Documentation | Gideros Development Center | Gideros community chat | DONATE
Bundle basic vector/math functions and whatnots in Gideros — Gideros Forum

Bundle basic vector/math functions and whatnots in Gideros

DafbDafb Member
edited August 2020 in Suggestions & requests
Hello,

I love Gideros. Until now, each time I have a problem, there is a solution. And the problems I had, I basically created them by lack of skill or lack of knowledge :p

I do not consider myself as a good programmer. I am a hobby programmer, meaning a bad one! However, I do have creative ideas, and I have reasonable art/photoshop skills. It means that with enough time and effort, I can achieve my game dev goals alone.

Since 20 years, I usually argue that math above middle school level is rather useless in daily life. Now that I am making a 2D game, I kinda regret this statement. I have to relearn everything the hard way. So I started and continue to do so. I figured out a lot of things. But time could have been more efficiently spent if most of the classic geometry needs would have been baked already in the Gideros distribution. When you have a job and a family, time is really precious.

Classic examples would be different kind of sprite motions, basic collision formula or some of the functions available here. And we can think about more...

Yes, I know: this is the proof there is already a lot of resources online. But I also think that delivering maybe an optimized version of these functions would give potentially Gideros a boost in productivity and popularity by attracting more beginners.