Quick Links: Download Gideros Studio | Gideros Documentation | Gideros Development Center | Gideros community chat | DONATE
Android .APK Package - Page 2 — Gideros Forum

Android .APK Package

2»

Comments

• Thansk moopf and ar2rsawseen, I followed your guide and found the way to track error :)
  • Hi there,
    is there another way to build an apk from my Gideros project than using Eclipse?

I've been messing around with it for a week now and was not able to export my project, so I am about to give it up and stop using Gideros (although I really love it).

Using Eclipse is confusing, non-intuitive and annoying like hell -and I am not a beginner (developing games since more than ten years now), I just never worked with Java and Eclipse before, like many others here.

According to other posts here, many users here are struggling with exporting their projects to install them on a real device, too. This is really a HUGE show stopper and an unnecessary obstacle for new Gideros users.

I've been searching DAYS for tutorials, guides or explanation on how to export my Gideros project using Eclipse -but I could only find examples using the Gideros player and the Google dev pages are way too abstract. So meanwhile I wonder if there are ANY Gideros users out there who ever managed to finally deploy and publish their Gideros apps. Most of them seem to stay with the simple player solution.

Honestly, you really need to find a better way to deploy Gideros projects. The Eclipse procedure is a real pain and highly error-prone. Even if you do nothing than just importing your Gideros project and try to export it, you get tons of confusing error messages and console warnings and have to dig through tons of articles and forums on the web to collect some useful information.

I used to develop Corona apps for iOS devices and this was like a picnic compared to THIS procedure :-/