Quick Links: Download Gideros Studio | Gideros Documentation | Gideros Development Center | Gideros community chat | DONATE
Hello — Gideros Forum

Hello

edawgedawg Member
edited March 2012 in Introduce yourself
Hi, I'm new to all of this programming stuff and have been trolling around Gideros for about 2 weeks now. Before Gideros, I was trolling through 'beer' SDK...my question for you experienced peeps is how should I go about trying to learn all of this stuff?! I have no programming experience whatsoever...should I learn LUA first? Or should I just try to learn off of the tutorials and templates? Please enlighten me as I am totally in the dark but willing to learn! Thanks in advance

Comments

• i think tutorial and templates will be fine also consider this

http://appcodingeasy.com/Gideros-Mobile
  • edawgedawg Member
    Hey, thanks for the reply, I have checked out that link and think 'wow' this look great, but then I take a look at the code and can't seem to grasp how everything comes together. I like to consider myself a pretty smart guy, which is why I am stumped by this! I'm on this site everyday and am hoping eventually, one day, everything will 'click' one day! Thanks again!
  • Hi, edawg :) - I can't remember learning how to program, it was so long ago, except that we did binary on the first morning, and I almost abandoned the course. Learning any language helps you become a programmer, so any beginning programming book will help you to understand about variables and loops and events etc. Once you have the basics, it's generally pretty easy to learn new languages.

I just found this tutorial about Lua, taking it from the very beginning, which might help, and at least it will get you started typing stuff in. (Typing stuff in is very important - just reading about it will get you nowhere.)

http://www.phailed.me/2011/02/learn-lua-the-hard-way-1/#desc