Quick Links: Download Gideros Studio | Gideros Documentation | Gideros Development Center | Gideros community chat | DONATE
Speed of Texture loading — Gideros Forum

Speed of Texture loading

bowerandybowerandy Guru
edited March 2012 in General questions
I'm new to Gideros and evaluating whether I can jump ship from Corona SDK over here. I absolutely love the fast testing turnaround with Gideros player and the fact that you have a standard OOP framework built-in.

One problem I have, which might be a bit of a show-stopper for me is the speed of texture loading. Basically, I have some long animations that can't all fit into a single texture sheet so I need to page the next section in after the first one has finished playing (or better still, WHILE the first one is playing).

Since I can't find any multi-threading capability inside Gideros , I'm looking at loading the next texture in sequence dynamically after the animation of the first one has finished. Now, I hear you say, that will never work and you're right. However, it does work okay on Corona (just about) because the texture loading seems so much faster. For example with a 1024x1024 texture on an iPad 1:

Gideros:
TexturePack.new of 1024x1024 png texture takes 900-120ms
Texture.new of 800x500 png image takes 80ms

Corona
SpriteGrabber load of 1024x1024 png texture takes 50ms
display.newImage of 800x500 png image takes 40ms

You see that there is a lot of difference here, which makes me think that something is in need of optimizing somewhere. Has anyone else experienced this?

Comments

• That should say:
    TexturePack.new of 1024x1024 png texture takes 900-1200ms
  • Take a look at Lua coroutines. Haven't tried them with Gideros yet but they may help you out in loading things asynchronously.
  • atilimatilim Maintainer
    edited March 2012
    Hi,

After your post, I've created a 1024x1024 texture pack with 74 texture regions in it. The size of the resulting .png file is 433kb. On iPad 1, loading times are: