Quick Links: Download Gideros Studio | Gideros Documentation | Gideros Development Center | Gideros community chat | DONATE
Adding setPixel method to Shape — Gideros Forum

Adding setPixel method to Shape

ArmandArmand Member
edited February 2014 in General questions
Hi,

I'm new to Gideros. After having worked with Marmalade and MoSync, I abandoned them both and now I'm trying my luck with Gideros. I also tried Titanium SDK, by the way, but this is much more complex to use and didn't run as smoothly as Gideros (although it offers many more interfaces to the native APIs and it uses Eclipse, which I like). So far, so good, and after a little less than 2 weeks I'm starting to get up to speed with my next app. By the way, my next app is not a game app, but I still like to try to use Gideros as an SDK. It seems to do pretty well so far :-)

My question is this:
Since I want good-looking and scalable graphics, I synthesize my own buttons and other GUI elements rather than using bitmaps for them. Synthesizing means that you're free to change colors, texts, sizes and whatsoever without having to re-create your bitmaps over and over again, and your app will always fit to whatever resolution your device will have,
For this to look good, I need sub-pixel graphics. Rendering the buttons to huge (4x4) sizes using the standard shape drawing methods and scaling down would probably work fairly well, but for performance and memory reasons I'd prefer direct sub-pixel rendering. Also, this allows for shaded areas, which is much harder otherwise.

Since the Gideros shape drawing methods are only full-pel-based, there is a lot of aliasing at the edges. I noticed anti-aliasing to be a roadmap item, so maybe I can be of some help creating them.