Quick Links: Download Gideros Studio | Gideros Documentation | Gideros Development Center | Gideros community chat | DONATE
Screen Coordinates Off — Gideros Forum

Screen Coordinates Off

Daimyo21Daimyo21 Member
edited February 2014 in General questions
I have been developing my app on and off for 6+ months and in the past I have spent tons of hours playing around with the coordinates and looking at posts on these forums, trying to understand why my app does this but eventually just gave up and dealt with the annoying fact that my 0,0 coordinates virtually don't exist and pretty much way off.

Instead I've used methods such as Kredor7's to get around it: http://giderosmobile.com/forum/discussion/4321/easy-to-get-screen-edge-coordinates-regardless-of-screen-scaling/p1

self.widthDif = math.ceil(application:getLogicalTranslateX() / application:getLogicalScaleX())
self.heightDif = math.ceil(application:getLogicalTranslateY() / application:getLogicalScaleY())

My top left coordinates are (-200, 0) using method above. Though it doesnt really matter, it does get confusing at times when printing coordinates of sprite with getX(), getY(), getPosition() etc.

Here are my project properties:

Scale Mode: Letterbox

Logical dimensions 480w by 320h

Orientation Landscape Left

FPS 60

Anyone have an explanation/fix for this? Could it be sprites I am using etc?

Thanks!

Comments

• You could try creating a function to process the coordinate value to take into account the extra screen space. This being just for the sake of showing it on screen as the platform its self would still be seeing it as -200,0.

+1 -1 (+1 / -0 )Share on Facebook
  • You could try creating a function to process the coordinate value to take into account the extra screen space. This being just for the sake of showing it on screen as the platform its self would still be seeing it as -200,0.