Quick Links: Download Gideros Studio | Gideros Documentation | Gideros Development Center | Gideros community chat
Scroll View / Displaying partly a sprite - Gideros Forum

Scroll View / Displaying partly a sprite

lsouchetlsouchet Member
edited August 2013 in Game & application design
Hi all,
I am new to Gideros, so my question may seem a bit naive.
I am building a UI and trying to insert a scroll view, i.e a frame with unlimited number of lines (sprites), but displayed only partly. On user touch events this list moves up and down but elements out of the frame are not displayed.

I didn't manage to find something like that out-of-the-box.
If you know a good library to do that simply, please stop reading and give me this reference :)

Anyway, I started to implement such a behavior, but I am stucked to this sprite cropping issue.
I need to set a shape (for example a rectangle) in which the sprite content will be displayed, without rescaling it.
For instance if I define a rectangle half as high as my sprite, only the top half of my sprite will be displayed.
How can I do such a thing?

This seems like something linked to the TextureRegion behaviour where only a part of the bitmap is displayed.
Any idea?

Thanks in advance

Dislikes: lolyoshi

+1 -1 (+0 / -1 ) Share on Facebook

Comments

• My cheating way of doing that sort of thing is to make a graphic with the appropriately sized rectangle cut out of it and set this graphic above the things that I want to be able to cover. So, add your scroll list and then add the covering graphic and all the stuff on the scroll list will only show when it is in the cut out rectangle and disappear as it moves behind the rest of the graphic. May not be suitable for what you are doing, but that's how I've managed so far.