Quick Links: Download Gideros Studio | Gideros Documentation | Gideros Development Center | Gideros community chat | DONATE
quick and easy way to hash strings? — Gideros Forum

quick and easy way to hash strings?

piepie Member
edited February 2013 in General questions
Hi, I'm sorry, I am a bit confused (and I am still a beginner to coding):

I am looking for a simple way to check the value of a saved string when it's loaded:

I suppose that this should be the workflow/logic:

On the "save side":

1)hash my string
2)append my hash(let's call it hash1) to the end of the string (maybe after some keyword to easily retrieve it by pattern find/parsing)
3)Save mystringvalue+hash1 to file.

On the load side:
1)load save file
2)Parse my string to get mystringvalue + hash1
3)hash2 = hash of mystringvalue (trimmed of hash1)
4)If hash 1 == hash2 then proceed.

I found this topic:

http://giderosmobile.com/forum/discussion/1227/md5-using-gideros-bitop-plugin

I didn't had a chance to try this method yet, but it seems to be a bit complex to me (unless I take it as a dogma.. :) ) and reading the included comments it seems to be a workaround more than being a "best practice" to do string hashing.

Is there any other method to achieve what I am trying to achieve?

Maybe something "easy" like:

string.md5(mystring)= hash1

Thank you in advance,

have a nice day!
:)
Tagged:

Comments

• Hi, I'm sorry, I am a bit confused (and I am still a beginner to coding):

I am looking for a simple way to check the value of a saved string when it's loaded:

Can you elaborate by what you mean when you say "check the value", can't you just do a string compare? eg.

if myString == "hello" then ... end ???

WhiteTree Games - Home, home on the web, where the bits and bytes they do play!
    #MakeABetterGame! "Never give up, Never NEVER give up!" - Winston Churchill
  • @techdojo thank you for your quick reply.

I suppose that I will do this on my "load side" (step #4) comparing hash1 with hash2.