Quick Links: Download Gideros Studio | Gideros Documentation | Gideros Development Center | Gideros community chat | DONATE
Various true beginner questions about ebook template, lua coding and tnt animator — Gideros Forum

Various true beginner questions about ebook template, lua coding and tnt animator

piepie Member
edited February 2013 in General questions
Hi,
sorry if my questions are stupid, I am a total beginner to LUA and game development (from code pov).
I am no coder, I worked as a game designer some years ago.
Now I'm trying to learn something new and I found Gideros.

I've read the gideros ultimate guide, this lua tutorial (http://luatut.com/), and some code example: I think I can mostly understand what happens, (I can follow the logic) but I'm clearly missing something "basic" :).

The only succesfull way I know to learn something, is to face it in the field: choose an easy target and try to achieve it, then add complexity and so on... so I started out with the ebook example.

I added sprites around in the first page (page0) and experimented editing code here and there: it works as expected, but I still can't understand some things:

(_QUESTION_0_)
is "self" actually a keyword, referring to the function it is included in (like saying "myself" if I were the function)?
Or could this be any_word_that_could_be_a_meaningful_variable?

I imported a character (a dog, an "actor") with animations made with TNT animator:
following the provided example code, I placed it inside the Page0:init function code, as another function (every example provided with TNTanimator "include the actor" as a function:
I don't think that using a function is needed for my actual purpose, but since I'm trying to learn, it's ok: more things to learn, less to change in the original code from Gregbug - thank you for tntanimator :) ).

Then I tried to apply to my actor (dog) the code found about the "bird" on Page4 (same ebook template).

My Goal: on mouseclick/touch