Quick Links: Download Gideros Studio | Gideros Documentation | Gideros Development Center | Gideros community chat | DONATE
onEnterFrame execution order? — Gideros Forum

onEnterFrame execution order?

dwilson08dwilson08 Member
edited September 2012 in General questions
Hey guys,

I'm just starting to learn Gideros and I'm trying to make a fairly simple overhead racing/obstacle-avoid game. Currently, I'm having some weird issues with the onEnterFrame event not working like I expect. Right now it seems the order that my sprites run their onEnterFrame function seems to be somewhat random. Unfortunately for me, if those functions aren't run in particular order I get weird seams in my road tiles (from speed changes). Here's are some relevant snippets to describe my code.

Game.lua
function game:init()

local roads = Sprite.new()

for i=0, 3 do
		local road = Road.new()
		road:setPosition(0, i*road:getHeight())
		roads:addChild(road)
	end

self:addChild(roads)

local smPothole = Pothole.new("assets/pothole-s.png", small)
	self:addChild(smPothole)
road.lua
Road = Core.class(Sprite)

function Road:init()
	local bitmap = Bitmap.new(Texture.new("assets/roadTile.png"))
	self:addChild(bitmap)
	self:addEventListener(Event.ENTER_FRAME, self.onEnterFrame, self)
end

function Road:onEnterFrame(event)
	local x, y = self:getPosition()
	local tileHeight = self:getHeight()

--[[Checks if tile is off the canvas and moves it to the top. Otherwise, move road tile down
		slightly to give illusion of car moving.]]

if y >= tileHeight*3 then
		local overshoot = y - tileHeight*3
		self:setY(-tileHeight + overshoot + speed)
	else 
		self:setY(y + speed)
	end
end
pothole.lua
Pothole = Core.class(Sprite)

function Pothole:init(texture, size)
	--initialize pothole with texture passed as argument
	local bitmap = Bitmap.new(Texture.new(texture))
	self.size = size
	self:addChild(bitmap)
	self:setPosition(120, 955)
	self:addEventListener(Event.ENTER_FRAME, self.onEnterFrame, self)
end