Quick Links: Download Gideros Studio | Gideros Documentation | Gideros Development Center | Gideros community chat | DONATE
How to add Class Fields? — Gideros Forum

How to add Class Fields?

mNicksmNicks Member
edited June 2012 in General questions
Hi,

I'm new to Gideros and Lua and I was wondering how do you add fields to a custom class?

And is a constructor required each time you create a custom class?

Thanks.

Dislikes: crino

+1 -1 (+0 / -1 )Share on Facebook

Comments

• Lua's class docs:

http://www.lua.org/pil/16.html

Gideros' class docs:

https://docs.google.com/document/pub?id=149g_P1YlE4_6v_hHbFx3YAaYpdU0HoM70XJSLTE38ww#h.gmn9gbu2mq98

http://www.giderosmobile.com/documentation/reference_manual.html#EventDispatcher

Here is a sample of my code adding a class field.
    MyTiledMap = Core.class(Sprite)

function MyTiledMap:init(tiled_filename)
    	self.map = require(tiled_filename)
    	-- etc...
    end
    No you don't need a constructor but if it's going to be a class field (instead of object field) you'd kinda need the constructor. Yes, you can have object fields because in Lua a class/object is really just a table and there is no "privacy" or rules regarding what you can and can't do with the table just becuase you are using it as an object.
  • mNicksmNicks Member
    Thanks,

I took a look at the documents and your code and if I understand this right, class fields can only be declared within the constructor in Gideros?
  • ar2rsawseenar2rsawseen Maintainer
    No, not only. You can create new class field also in other class methods as also outside the class.
    --our custom class
    MyClass = Core.class(Sprite)

--you can set up property in constructor
    function MyClass:init()
    	self.property1 = 1
    end

--or in any other method
    function MyClass:otherMethod()
    	self.property2 = 2
    end

--or even when you already created a class instance
    local myclass = MyClass.new()
    myclass.property3 = 3
  • mNicksmNicks Member