Quick Links: Download Gideros Studio | Gideros Documentation | Gideros Development Center | Gideros community chat | DONATE
The proper way to clear a parent group and prevent memory leaks? — Gideros Forum

The proper way to clear a parent group and prevent memory leaks?

MellsMells Guru
edited May 2012 in General questions
I was wondering how do you clear your parent groups to prevent memory leaks?

As a beginner, I was thinking :
  1. Get all children of a parent sprite (something that might be achievable thanks to the snippet shared by @MikeHart
  2. removeChild -> But was does 'remove' really mean in the documentation? Should I 'nil' the objects also?
  3. Get all listeners that belong to the parent and its children, and remove it (will need to search how to get those listeners)
  4. Am I on the good way? How do you handle that task?

If somebody has links to give me so that I can study some code (snippets), that would be very helpful.

Thank you, community.

twitter@TheWindApps Artful applications : The Wind Forest. #art #japan #apps

Comments

• ar2rsawseenar2rsawseen Maintainer
    Hi ;)
    Well object is garbage collected (aka removed from memory) when there a no references to this object.
    When you add object to a parent, you create a reference to this object, so what remove function does is that it removes this references.
    You only need to nil in cases, where you created your own reference.
    For example:

--no need for nil

--create object
    local sprite = Sprite.new()
    --add create reference
    stage.addChild(sprite)
    --remove reference
    stage.removeChild(sprite)

--need to nil

--create object
    --add create reference
    stage.addChild(sprite)
    --creating your own reference
    stage.sprite = sprite
    --remove reference
    --need to remove your own reference
    stage.sprite = nil