Quick Links: Download Gideros Studio | Gideros Documentation | Gideros Development Center | Gideros community chat | DONATE
[HELP WANTED] "Porting" my 2D, iPad JS-coded game to Gideros — Gideros Forum

[HELP WANTED] "Porting" my 2D, iPad JS-coded game to Gideros

DaveyJJDaveyJJ Member
edited March 2012 in Building a team?
Hi all,

I have had a number of apps in the store in the past (Bug Bounce, Garden Marbles, Dessert Dilemma, Dead Words etc) when the store was very new. I am a designer with a limited amount of JS and programming experience, although I also wrote many of the early tutorials for the Unity engine (and am still listed in the 3.5 credits) so consider myself a hobbyist programmer ... I can write great pseudo-code. I have relied, as needed, in the past, for some of the heavier code lifting in my games, on help from people like the fantastic Jedd Haberstro (Apple), Ricardo Quesada (Cocos2D developer), and my coworker and neighbour, Robert Hahn, among others.

I recently helped Robert Hahn do the art for his Gideros-powered iPad game called Phalanx, and his upcoming original unannounced title also in Gideros. That's actually me on the right (I'm that bald!?) in the blog posting about his Phalanx game ... http://www.giderosmobile.com/blog/2012/02/29/story-board-game-phalanx/. I am also slowly teaching myself Lua and can tinker in Gideros as well.

I am looking for some programming help with an iPad title I released 6 months ago under my KokoTap moniker, Move It, Soldier! It's a basic 2D game where players try to move themselves across a randomly generated battlefield. See the site at http://moveitsoldier.com (and my other former games at http://www.kokotap.com). I'd like to "port" the entire Javascript code base and recreate the game in Gideros and Lua to make it cleaner, less crashy, and better organized (using objects etc so it could be extended) with the help a decently skilled programmer from the community here.