Quick Links: Download Gideros Studio | Gideros Documentation | Gideros Development Center | Gideros community chat | DONATE
Hello from James Reynolds — Gideros Forum

Hello from James Reynolds

MagnusviriMagnusviri Member
edited January 2012 in Introduce yourself
I'm a hobby game programmer with a few games on iOS (http://yummyyellow.com/). I recently started teaching a youth class on game programming and there was interest in doing game programming for phones and the development environment I previously used did not support phones and it wasn't on the roadmap for it, so I began looking at alternatives and Mike Hartlef suggested Gideros so I've been looking at it and think I like it enough to proceed with it.

I don't know if this is a good place to ask questions but I'll give it a shot.

Lua appears to be able to run code assigned to a variable, and that code can be downloaded from the internet. It is my understanding that running non-signed non-curated code is strictly against Apple's App Store rules. I've talked with developers of other developer environments that run interpreted code, and they said they had to disable anything resembling exec. I'm not sure this is even possible with Lua. It appears that a few apps have been written using Gideros that are currently on the App Store so it appears that Apple is approving the apps made with Gideros. But do you guys have any backup plans in case Apple says it wont approve apps that use Lua (or Gideros) anymore?

Second, does anyone know of any Lua books aimed at teenagers or anything in the works for Gideros? A textbook is always a nice thing to be able to give students.

Comments

• Hi James,