Quick Links: Download Gideros Studio | Gideros Documentation | Gideros Development Center | Gideros community chat | DONATE
Box2dEasy not working as expected — Gideros Forum

Box2dEasy not working as expected

bayopbayop Member
edited July 2013 in Game & application design
I'm still a bit new to Gideros, but I've been playing around with some of the libraries and now I'm trying to integrate physics into a game using Box2dEasy, but having some problems.

When I start the simulation, my physics enabled sprite just moves to the top left hand corner of the screen and goes out of view. I'm not applying any force on it and box2d gravity have been set to zero. I even setup some debug print messages and found that the sprite's velocity (linear and angular) were not changing. However, the body was still moving. The code for object initialization and world updates is reproduced below;

Initializing the game scene (Using sceneManager)
require "box2d"

gameScn =  Core.class(Sprite)

local car
local world = {}

function gameScn:init(level_id)
  world = b2.World.new(0, 0, true)
  car = Car.new()	
  world:createRectangle(car, {type = "dynamic" })
  self:addChild(car)
  self:addEventListener(Event.ENTER_FRAME,self.onEnterFrame, self)
end
updating the game scene
function gameScn:onEnterFrame(event) 	
   world:update()
end
Car sprite initialization
Danfo = Core.class(Sprite)

function Car:init() 
	local pack = TexturePack.new(getImgBase() .. "vehicles.txt",getImgBase() .. "vehicles.png")

self.anim = {
		Bitmap.new(pack:getTextureRegion("danfo_up"), true),
		Bitmap.new(pack:getTextureRegion("danfo_cond1"), true),
		Bitmap.new(pack:getTextureRegion("danfo_cond2"), true),
		Bitmap.new(pack:getTextureRegion("danfo_crash"), true),
	}
	self.yOffset = 400;
	self:setAnchorPoint(0,0)
	self.frame = 1
	self:addChild(self.anim[1])
	self:setX(Utils.LANE_ONE)
	self:setY(self.yOffset)

self.nframes = #self.anim
end