Quick Links: Download Gideros Studio | Gideros Documentation | Gideros Development Center | Gideros community chat | DONATE
Animation workflow — Gideros Forum

Animation workflow

boriskeyboriskey Member
edited June 2013 in Game & application design
Hi, I am going to ask very generic questions as I am new to animation.

First off, If I am to hire an animation artist to create sprite sheets for my app, does it matter what tool he uses? My main concern, that she should be able to "tag" animation with sprite sheets like "man, running left", "man, jumping" etc. So I get metadata to work with. Or it is something I would have to do myself?

Second, once I get the sprite sheet, what is the best way to load it, again make it easier to work with metadata? I saw example like Texture Pack, I do not like that I have to init every single sprite and "hardcode" frames sequence.

What I was thinking, is an easy way to take the sprite sheet and have another file on a side that would automate this process. So that file would describe which sprites belong to a "man, running left", "man, jumping" etc.

I also looks at TNT animation studio, but I cannot find any posts with people actually using it. Will it give me this ability I described above? is it ready for production use?

If you can also any best practices regarding animation workflow or point me to some other resources, it would be great.

My fear after looking at Gideros examples, it takes too much work to init sprites and describe their behavior so I am looking for a way to minimize this work since in my app there will be hundreds of animated objects.

Thanks!

Comments

• ar2rsawseenar2rsawseen Maintainer
    edited June 2013
    Hello @boriskey