Quick Links: Download Gideros Studio | Gideros Documentation | Gideros Development Center | Gideros community chat | DONATE
Contact class problem — Gideros Forum

Contact class problem

xxRVxxxxRVxx Member
edited June 2014 in Game & application design
Hi, I'm new to Gideros, programming and making apps, and this is my first post on this forum, although I've been reading it for a while. Till now I've found answers to all my questions, but now I'm stuck ;(

I'm using box2d, I created an actor with dynamic body:

actorBody = myWorld:createBody{
type = b2.DYNAMIC_BODY,
position = {x=120, y=10}

}

and a fixture with the following shape:

actorShape = b2.PolygonShape.new()
actorShape:setAsBox(actorWidth/2, actorHeight/2, actorWidth/2, actorHeight/2, 0)

Then I created a ground with static body:

groundBody = myWorld:createBody{
type = b2.STATIC_BODY,
position = {x=0, y=0}

}

and a fixture with the following shape

groundShape = b2.ChainShape.new()
groundShape:createChain(
)

it has a U shape, so that body doesn't fall from screen on the sides. Both actor and ground were created with restitution = 0.0 so that the actor doesn't bounce.

I want my actor to jump only when he's touching ground, so I'm using the Contact class as seen on the Reference and forums:

actorTouchingGroung = false

function beginContact(e)
--getting contact bodies
local fixtureA = e.fixtureA
local fixtureB = e.fixtureB
local bodyA = fixtureA:getBody()
local bodyB = fixtureB:getBody()
if bodyA == groundBody and bodyB == actorBody then
actorTouchingGroung = true
end
end

myWorld:addEventListener(Event.BEGIN_CONTACT, beginContact)

function endContact(e)
--getting contact bodies
local fixtureA = e.fixtureA
local fixtureB = e.fixtureB
local bodyA = fixtureA:getBody()
local bodyB = fixtureB:getBody()
if bodyA == groundBody and bodyB == actorBody then
actorTouchingGroung = false
end
end

myWorld:addEventListener(Event.END_CONTACT, endContact)