Quick Links: Download Gideros Studio | Gideros Documentation | Gideros Development Center | Gideros community chat | DONATE
Detailed Road Map On Getting a Mobile Game Made — Gideros Forum

Detailed Road Map On Getting a Mobile Game Made

Unknown Member
edited May 2013 in Step by step tutorials
Hey Guys,

I'd really appreciate your help in putting together a detailed road map for game development, for those new to the field like myself.
A road map like this is good: http://lioninngames.com/the-roadmap-to-develop-indie-games/
but incomplete (in my humble opinion).

So to kick things off, I've got an idea for a 2D mobile game. I've planned/designed the levels, and characters (enemies, player unit, weapons, etc.).

I'm no artist, nor am I a programmer.

So what now?

Do I begin recruiting an artist for the art, or get the programming done first?
And if I choose the former, how do I go about it?

Here are my questions when it comes to recruiting an artist:

1) What information would this person need in detail?
Nothing vague. Exact things that he would typically need to know.

2) What output should I expect?
If I were to hire someone, what should be the result that I am looking for?
I need background images (pretty straightforward, I think), and art for the characters, items (stuff that will be animated/moving within the game).

Should I get this artist to create different character poses (for when he is shooting, running, etc), a sprite sheet? Is that what my programmer would need in order to put the graphics into the game?

I think that should be enough for starters.

If you think I'm forgetting to ask some important questions, please let me know...

Thanks again,
Faizal

Comments

• AhBadianeAhBadiane Member
    edited May 2013
    @oneweirddude,
    Interesting questions , I am very interested in the answers to my game in progress ;;)
    http://www.giderosmobile.com/forum/discussion/3251/a-taste-of-my-game-snake-breakout#Item_1
    AhBadiane
  • loucsamloucsam Member