Quick Links: Download Gideros Studio | Gideros Documentation | Gideros Development Center | Gideros community chat | DONATE
Mobile server — Gideros Forum

Mobile server

ar2rsawseenar2rsawseen Maintainer
edited June 2012 in General questions
Hello all,
I'm quite new to networking and wanted to explore the dark waters with Gideros. So I wanted to create simple server app, to which other could connect. Probably similar to Gideros Player.

So I tried this piece of code
-- load namespace
local socket = require("socket")
local ip, t = socket.dns.toip("localhost")
-- create a TCP socket and bind it to the local host, at any port
local server = assert(socket.bind(ip, 53883))
-- find out which port the OS chose for us
local ip, port = server:getsockname()
-- print a message informing what's up
print("Please telnet to "..ip.." on port " .. port)
print("After connecting, you have 10s to enter a line to be echoed")
-- loop forever waiting for clients
while 1 do
  -- wait for a connection from any client
  local client = server:accept()
  -- make sure we don't block waiting for this client's line
  client:settimeout(10)
  -- receive the line
  local line, err = client:receive()
  -- if there was no error, send it back to the client
  if not err then client:send(line .. "\n") end
  -- done with client, close the object
  client:close()
end
Which allows me to connect to localhost through putty on same port, but then after some time it says server has stopped unexpectedly. And when I check Gideros player it's simply hangs (Not responding).

I'm probably doing something completely wrong using while loop. So how does one can create a server app?

Tagged:
+1 -1 (+1 / -0 )Share on Facebook

Comments

• ar2rsawseenar2rsawseen Maintainer
    edited June 2012
    If you'll wonder about the purpose, then I want to create a real time game, that can be simply played between two phones in LAN, without any third parity server.

Is it even possible?