Quick Links: Download Gideros Studio | Gideros Documentation | Gideros Development Center | Gideros community chat | DONATE
Can I ask some help with Shader understanding — Gideros Forum

Can I ask some help with Shader understanding

YanYan Member
edited January 2017 in Suggestions & requests
I have no experience in low level programming, so I cant make own Shader because the documentation is very poor. (Needed the simplest blur effect on sprite)

Ive read about GLSL shaders, but in the Gideros shader documentation there are some things I cant find in Google.

Heres the documentation example:
local shader=Shader.new("vShader","fShader",0,
{
{name="vMatrix",type=Shader.CMATRIX,sys=Shader.SYS_WVP,vertex=true},
{name="fTexelSize",type=Shader.CFLOAT4,vertex=false},
{name="fRad",type=Shader.CINT,vertex=false},
},
{
{name="vVertex",type=Shader.DFLOAT,mult=3,slot=0,offset=0},
{name="vColor",type=Shader.DUBYTE,mult=4,slot=1,offset=0},
{name="vTexCoord",type=Shader.DFLOAT,mult=2,slot=2,offset=0},
});

vertex shader: (string) The path and name for the vertex shader without its extension
    fragment shader: (string) The path and name for the fragment shader without its extension
    flags: (number) A set of numerical flags or 0 if none
    uniform descriptor: (table) An array of uniforms/constants descriptors
    attribute descriptor: (table) An array of attributes descriptors
Now the questions: what means uniform descriptor and attribute descriptor, didnt found in Google and no info in documentation at all. How do they should be set, and for what those params are responsible.

uniform descriptor:
name, type, sys, vertex - what they are do and what for ?

attribute descriptor:
what does this params do ? and what for ?

Also I cant understand how many and wich descriptor table indexes are required to shader work properly ?