Quick Links: Download Gideros Studio | Gideros Documentation | Gideros Development Center | Gideros community chat | DONATE
Confuse about Game Developing — Gideros Forum

Confuse about Game Developing

albert988albert988 Member
edited January 2014 in Relax cafe
After a year of game developing as an indie game developer. I start feeling confused.
As a matter of fact, the game I developed earn less than my expect. Is it because I am an indie developer? Is it because the game lack of good art? Is it because I don't know how to promote the game? I really confused and don't know exactly how to do next.

So I want to ask you guys for some advice. Thanks a lot.

Dislikes: Yan

+1 -1 (+0 / -1 )Share on Facebook

Comments

• MellsMells Guru
    edited January 2014
    @albert988 yes, yes, yes could be answers but there are solutions to fix it.
    There are indies that are sustainable.
    There are games with bad art that are sustainable (but they are an exception).
    There are games with little to no marketing that made money (but they are exception).

There are indies with good games / good art / good marketing that don't make money (because running a business is 1 million other things).

I think that :
    - you should work on solving both bad art and no marketing skills issues (invest to learn it, bring a partner who can take care of that, or hire someone)
    - now is the period where a lot of indies give up : they were excited by "the app rush" and the mirage of "being the first on the market" disappears. They are now looking at other new shiny things.
    The big players have a good understanding on how the market works and how to dominate it. Indies have to level up their game to find their way. Some will invest for it, some others will give up.

If you know what you want, and if you think that making games for a living can bring you there, you should definitely keep on working on it (but do it differently than what took you there).