Quick Links: Download Gideros Studio | Gideros Documentation | Gideros Development Center | Gideros community chat | DONATE
Is it possible to "flip" a sprite with a 3D effect? — Gideros Forum

Is it possible to "flip" a sprite with a 3D effect?

krl3000krl3000 Member
edited August 2013 in General questions
I am TOTALLY new to Gideros but have been researching this question for a couple days and haven't found an answer. Basically, I want to simulate the look of a cube with images on each face rotating around the x axis in response to touch gestures (the user would slide up on the cube to rotate the cube up to show what's currently on the bottom face and down on the cube to show what's currently on the top face).

A simplistic implementation would be to have a sprite for the front face and when the user slides scale the x-axis on that sprite down while scaling the x-axis on another sprite up, adjusting their locations as necessary to give the impression of one face rotating out of view while the other rotates into view. However, this ignores perspective; as the faces rotate in and out of view, the side angles need to change due to perspective. Basically, the sides should be parallelograms where the height and side angles change as the cube is rotated.

I thought it might be possible to do this using matrix transformations but the only skew transforms I see affect both sides identically (i.e. the shape could be skewed to "lean" left or "lean" right). If I'm trying to skew a rectangular shape, I need the left side to skew toward the right and the right side to skew toward the left.

Is there any way to do what I'm trying to describe?

Thanks in advance for any help or advice.

Comments