Quick Links: Download Gideros Studio | Gideros Documentation | Gideros Development Center | Gideros community chat | DONATE
Hello, I'm Sid — Gideros Forum

Hello, I'm Sid

strancalistrancali Member
edited January 2012 in Introduce yourself
Hi everyone, I just want to pop in and introduce myself. My name is Sid and although I'm not new to programming, I am new to game development and the Lua language. Starting this February, I will have extra free time and I want to dedicate myself to learn Gideros, Corona or both. At this moment, I am torn as to which platform to start off with. I would love to stick with Gideros from the get go because I am impressed with what I'm seeing so far in such a short time. Corona has been around longer and has a wonderful community who help each other out and I see this with Gideros also.

From a newbie's perspective, if Gideros would set some time and create templates for people who are new to game development and lua in general, it would gain A LOT of users. This is what makes Ansca so popular because they make it easy. My wish is that you guys make some ready to go templates, doesn't have to be heavy, just enough to get the person start going on a project. For example, have a template for an Interactive ebook, shooter, physics, tiled etc with all the foundation code and the user can just change out images, sounds etc if they want to stick with the basic. They can learn from that and add on to it. This way, everyone starts off with the proper structure for the game/app and build on top of that if they reach that point.

I see some people on here who seems to be good at Gideros already, maybe someone can make these templates and sell them (I would definitely buy it). I just want to remind Gideros NOT to forget the new people (just starting out). Build it, make it easy and they will come.